How to manage test cases? what are standard report to product owner?

Home Forums Software Testing Discussions How to manage test cases? what are standard report to product owner?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Ery
    Participant
    @ery77

Hi All,
    I am new in this testing area, I have been working for 1 year and a half now. As a new tester, I am curious and willing to learn to make myself a better software tester.

Currently my process for testing a software are:
    1. Exploratory testing, based on requirement or product documentation.
    2. Along the way, I create test cases. The purpose is for regression test.
    Later this test cases can be a guide for manual testing or automatic testing.
    I don’t know if this is the right flow for testing process.

If you don’t mind, please share. I would like to learn how you:

1.. Manage test cases so it can become a guide for regression test. I am willing to learn to make it efficient and effective.
    2. Report to product owner or project manager. are there standard for reports to follow?

Regards,
    Ery.k

Thanh
    Participant
    @rocky

Hi Ery,

I think you’re on the right track with your process.

Re: 1.. Manage test cases so it can become a guide for regression test. I am willing to learn to make it efficient and effective.
    > I prefer a high level test cases because this will reduce my effort to maintain them when there are changes

2. Report to product owner or project manager. are there standard for reports to follow?
    > I would say there’s no standard. How about asking your manager what kind of information he/she needs from your report and why. This will make sure that you’re providing what people want.

Goodluck with your testing journey

Ery
    Participant
    @ery77

Hi Thanh,
    thank you for your sharing.

High level test cases? what is it?

John
    Participant
    @johnreber

Hi Ery,